BadBadNotGood ‎– Late Night Tales - 2 x Vinyl LP


Regular price £18.99 Sale

Released: 28 Jul 2017

Canadian quartet BadBadNotGood take on creating the ultimate “late night” selection of tracks from their record collections, set for release on 28th July 2017.

The original trio of Matthew Tavares, Alex Sowinski and Chester Hansen formed while studying music at Toronto’s Humber College (they’ve recently added Leland Whitty to the line-up). A shared appreciation of hip hop and instrumental covers of Gucci Mane and Earl Sweatshirt suggested a worldly outlook and reciprocated love from Tyler The Creator and Ghostface Killah, with whom they made 2015’s Sour Soul. Their last album, the critically-acclaimed IV, turned heads and their collaborators continue to multiply: Snoop Dogg, Kaytranada and Kendrick Lamar among them.

You can even hear little bits of BadBadNotGood through this mix, as though they are transmitting parts of themselves through the music they select. Perhaps the keys on Admas’ hilariously expensive ‘Anchi Bale Game’, maybe, or the arrangements on Delegation’s mighty Britsoul tune ‘Oh Honey’ or the groove from ‘Vida Antiga’, Erasmo Carlos’ Brazilian classic. As Janis almost sang, take another little piece of my art.

This is an international effort: Velly Joonas’ Estonian version of ‘Feel Like Makin’ Love’, Kiki Gyan, Admas and Francis Bebey representing Africa (Ghana, Ethiopia and Cameroon respectively), Les Prospection from France, Scots’ Boards Of Canada and fellow Canucks River Tiber and Charlotte Day Wilson.

Finally, there’s the no-small-matter of the Late Night Tales cover version, in which BadBadNotGood take on Andy Shauf’s ‘To You’ is turned into a mournful delight. while the Queen Of Siam herself, Lydia Lunch, delivers a sexual sermon involving only you, her and Jim Beam.


A Side: 
A1 Boards Of Canada - Olson [01:32] 
A2 Erasmo Carlos - Vida Antiga [03.23] 
A3 Gene Williams - Don’t Let Your Love Fade Away [02.47] 
A4 The Chosen Few – People Make The World Go Round [03:19] 
A5 Esther Phillips - Home Is Where the Hatred Is [03:25] 
A6 Delegation – Oh Honey [05:59]

B Side: 
B1 Velly Joonas - Käes on aeg [02:52] 
B2 Stereolab – The Flower Called Nowhere [04:55] 
B3 Kiki Gyan – Disco Dancer [06:57] 
B4 Admas – Anchi Bale Game [05:15]

C Side: 
C1 Francis Bebey – Sanza Nocturne [05:51] 
C2 Thundercat - For Love I Come [03:35] 
C3 River Tiber Ft. Daniel Caesar – West [02:32] 
C4 Charlotte Day Wilson – Work [03:44] 
C5 The Beach Boys - Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder) [02:59] 
C6 Donnie & Joe Emerson – Baby [04:11]

D Side: 
D1 Les Prospections – Lido [03:44] 
D2 Grady Tate – And I Love Her [04:48] 
D3 Badbadnotgood – To You 
(Exclusive Andy Shauf cover version) [02:26] 
D4 Steve Kuhn – The Meaning Of Love [03:00] 
D5 Lydia Lunch - You, Me and Jim Beam 
(Exclusive Spoken Word Piece) [04:26]