Andy Smith's Northern Soul - Various Artists - 2 x Vinyl LP

Andy Smith's Northern Soul - Various Artists - 2 x Vinyl LP

BGP Records

Regular price £22.99 Sale

Released: 31 Jan 2005

Best known as the touring DJ with trip-hop pioneers Portishead, Andy Smith's previous compilations proved him a mixologist of uncommon skill and taste, dexterous and batsh*t-crazy enough to weave Kate Bush,Ultramagnetic MC's and Three Dog Night into a seamless whole. With the self-explanatory Andy Smith's Northern Soul, he also proves himself a crate-digger par excellence -- born of his regular Northern sets at London's Jazz Caf , this 26-cut mix bypasses traditional crowd-pleasers to plunge fully into the realm of vintage soul obscurities rarely, if ever, resurrected in the digital era. But Northern purists should also be forewarned that Smith mixes his tracks together in contemporary DJ style

Track Listings

  1. Talkin' About My Baby
  2. Baby, Without You
  3. You Got Me Turned Around
  4. That's Enough
  5. On Top of the World
  6. Reach Out, I'll Be There
  7. If I Could Turn Back the Hands of Time
  8. All I Have to Do
  9. He's Alright With Me
  10. Try Some Soul
  11. Same Old Thing
  12. Don't Cry, Sing Along With the Music
  13. She's Looking Good
  14. Is She in Your Town?
  15. My Little Girl (Instrumental)
  16. I Can't Get Away (Vocal Version)
  17. Cigarette Ashes
  18. Too Much of a Good Thing
  19. Shotgun and the Duck
  20. I Can't Believe What You Say
  21. The New Breed
  22. You've Got It
  23. Mine Exclusively
  24. That's No Way to Treat a Girl
  25. As Long as I've Got You