Billy F Gibbons - The Big Bad Blues - Limited Edition 'Smoky' Vinyl 1LP with Poster

Billy F Gibbons - The Big Bad Blues - Limited Edition 'Smoky' Vinyl 1LP with Poster

Snakefarm Records

Regular price £22.99 Sale

Release Date: 13 April 2019

Limited Edition 'Smoky' Vinyl 1LP with Poster

With his signature beard and distinctive attire, Billy F Gibbons is instantly recognisable. He’s best known as the centerpiece and one third of ZZ Top, the band that came together in 1969 and has stayed as a key part of the American musical landscape ever since – the longest running major rock band still composed of its original members. In 2015, Billy released his debut solo album, the Afro-Cuban flavoured Perfectamundo, and now comes its follow-up, The Big Bad Blues, issued via Snakefarm Records. Co-produced by the great man and Joe Hardy, it is just as the title suggests – a return to Gibbons’ blues beginnings. The Big Bad Blues contains BFG-ified renditions of songs associated with some of his heroes – Standing Around Crying and Rollin’ and Tumblin’ by Muddy Waters, and Crackin’ Up and Bring It To Jerome from the Bo Diddley canon; these are joined by nine originals, including one written by Gilligan Gibbons, a/k/a Mrs. Billy Gibbons. Recorded in his hometown of Houston, the album features Guns N’ Roses / Velvet Revolver / The Cult veteran Matt Sorum on drums, and is a superb collection of down and dirty, raw rock ‘n’ roll blues, with Billy – one of the world’s finest guitarists working in the blues-rock idiom – clearly relishing the chance to celebrate his roots.

Track Listing:

A1 Missin Yo Kissin
A2 My Baby She Rocks
A3 Second Line
A4 Standing Around Crying
A5 Let The Left Hand Know
B1 Bring It To Jerome
B2 That's What She Said
B3 Mo Slower Blues
B4 Hollywood 151
B5 Rolling And Tumblin
B6 Crackin Up