Bob Dylan ‎– Folksinger's Choice (Live Radio Performance March 11th 1962 With Cy

Bob Dylan ‎– Folksinger's Choice (Live Radio Performance March 11th 1962 With Cy

Let Them Eat Vinyl

Regular price £17.99

Only 1 left in stock.


Released: 2012

Not yet 21 and with his first album still unreleased, a largely unknown Bob Dylan was invited by New Yorks WBAI radio to perform a live broadcast for Cynthia Goodings Folksinger s Choice programme on March 11th 1962. This legendary recording, available here for the first time, illustrates perfectly the scope and manner of Dylan s live repertoire in the months leading up to his debut release. In addition to the three originals, all newly minted by Dylan, he covers songs by the likes of Hank Williams, Woody Guthrie and Big Joe Williams, but interestingly does not perform any tracks that would feature on his first record just weeks from release at the time of this broadcast. Folksinger s Choice also contains the only known Dylan performances of Smokestack Lightning, Hard Travelin and Roll On, John and features the first known outings of The Death Of Emmett Till and Standing On The Highway The 11 songs performed are liberally interspersed with chat between Bob and Cynthia, however, far from spoiling the show, this only go to enhance one of the best early recordings we have of Bob Dylan


A1 (I Heard That) Lonesome Whistle
A2 Conversation Pt.1
A3 Fixin' To Die
A4 Conversation Pt. 2
A5 Smokestack Lightning
B1 Conversation Pt. 3
B2 Hard Travelin'
B3 Conversation Pt. 4
B4 The Death Of Emmett Till
B5 Conversation Pt. 5
B6 Standing On The Highway
C1 Conversation Pt. 6
C2 Roll On, John
C3 Conversation Pt. 7
C4 Stealin', Stealin'
C5 Conversation Pt. 8
D1 Makes A Long Time Man Feel Bad
D2 Conversation Pt. 9
D3 Baby Please Don't Go
D4 Conversation Pt. 10
D5 Hard Times In New York Town