Dave Gahan & Soulsavers - Imposter - Black Vinyl LP

Dave Gahan & Soulsavers - Imposter - Black Vinyl LP

Regular price £25.99 Sale

Release Date: 12 November 2021

Black Vinyl LP

Imposter is a collection of songs from Dave Gahan & Soulsavers. Dave and Soulsavers
didn’t write these songs, but listened to them, studied them, and gave them new life.
Recorded at the legendary Shangri-La Studios in Malibu, these versions of songs you
know and some you might not range from sparse to lush, somber to joyful. The
choices and sequencing were deliberate and meaningful. It shines a light on the
enduring strength of poignant lyrics and well-executed melodies.
Imposter is a reflection of Dave's life, a story told by others, but in his own distinct

1. The Dark End of the Street - Written by Chips Moman and Dan Penn
● First released in 1965
● Notable performances by Aretha Franklin, Linda Ronstadt & Elvis Costello
2. Strange Religion - Written by Mark Lanegan
● First released in 2004
● Notably used on Anthony Bourdain’s Parts Unknown
3. Lilac Wine - Written by James Shelton
● First released in 1950
● Notable performances by Nina Simone & Jeff Buckley
4. I Held My Baby Last Night - Written by Jules Bihari and Elmore James
● First released in 1952
● Notable performance by Fleetwood Mac
5. A Man Needs a Maid - Written by Neil Young
● First released in 1972
● Notable performances by Tindersticks & Astrid S
6. Metal Heart - Written by Cat Power
● First released in 1998
7. Shut Me Down - Written by Rowland S. Howard
● First released in 2009
8. Where My Love Lies Asleep - Written by Gene Clark
● First released in 1971
9. Smile - Music by Charles Chaplin / Words by John Turner and Geoffrey Parsons
● Music first released with lyrics & title in 1954
● Notable performances by Nat King Cole, Sammy Davis Jr., Judy Garland & Michael Jackson
10. The Desperate Kingdom of Love - Written by PJ Harvey
● First released in 2004
11. Not Dark Yet - Written by Bob Dylan
● First released in 1997
● Notable performances by Eric Clapton, Lucinda Williams & Silversun Pickups
12. Always On My Mind - Written by John Lee Christopher Jr., Mark James & Wayne Thompson
● First released in 1972
● Notable performances by Elvis Presley, Willie Nelson & Pet Shop Boy