Manic Street Preachers ‎– Know Your Enemy - Deluxe 3CD Book Set

Sony Music

Regular price £26.99 Sale

Released: 9th September 2022

Deluxe 3CD Book Set

Manic Street Preachers release a radically reimagined version of their 6th album Know Your Enemy. The new version of the album has been entirely remixed and reconstructed to form two separate albums as originally planned. Know Your Enemy is available as a 3 CD bookset, double CD and double album.

This deluxe release includes two previously unheard ‘forgotten’ tracks: ‘Studies in Paralysis’ and ‘Rosebud’. Beginning all wiry and cracked, ‘Rosebud’ soon opens out into a stuttering Hammond organ riff, a pensive rhythm track and a lyric that regrets “most things I never finished”. A Kieran Evans directed video for ‘Rosebud’ is online now.

Following the success of 1998’s This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours, Manic Street Preachers planned an ambitious follow-up to be released as two distinct albums: an aggressive, rapid fire return to their roots called ‘Solidarity’ and ‘Door To The River’, a more conciliatory, reflective collection. During the recording sessions, the trio got cold feet and settled on a single album that forced often conflicting ideas to sit side by side on the same record. Know Your Enemy was launched in February 2001 with a show at Teatro Karl Marx in Havana in front of the Cuban leader and charted at No.2 in the UK the following week, going on to see over half a million copies worldwide. The singles taken from the album: ‘So Why So Sad’, ‘Found That Soul’, ‘Ocean Spray’ and ‘Let Robeson Sing’ all reached the Top 20.

Whilst going through the band’s archive to put together an anniversary version of Know Your Enemy, Nicky Wire found the original tapes of ‘Solidarity’ and ‘Door To The River’ that he’d made up in the studio during recording. When he put forward the idea of recreating those records, James Dean Bradfield agreed on the condition that he could remix the entire record with the band’s longtime studio partner Dave Eringa. The new mixes would bring a clarity to each record, losing extraneous studio effects and digital noise from the ‘Solidarity’ songs and stripping away unnecessary orchestration and embellishment from the tracks that made up ‘Door To The River’.

Author and long-term band collaborator Robin Turner explains in his expansive sleeve notes that this release is “the Director’s Cut of ‘Know Your Enemy’. The picture has been painstakingly restored, cleaned up, brightened. Although it doesn’t aim to replace the original, it most certainly enhances it.”

The vinyl edition Know Your Enemy presents ‘Solidarity’ and ‘Door To The River’ in the same order as originally planned in 2000. Each of the CD packages features those records in full plus outtakes, unused mixes by Tom Lord-Alge and tracks featured on the original Know Your Enemy that aren’t on the two restructured albums. All formats feature previously unseen photos from the recording sessions taken by regular collaborator Mitch Ikeda.


Disc 1

1 The Year of Purification 
2 Ocean Spray 
3 So Why So Sad (Avalanches Sean Penn Mix) 
4 Door to the River 
5 Rosebud 
6 Just a Kid 
7 His Last Painting 
8 Let Robeson Sing 
9 Groundhog Days 
10 Epicentre 
11 His Last Painting (LA Mix) 
12 Epicentre (TLA Mix) 
13 So Why So Sad (Original KYE Version) 
14 Royal Correspondent 

Disc 2

1 Intravenous Agnostic 
2 Found That Soul (TLA Mix) 
3 We Are All Bourgeois Now 
4 Freedom of Speech Won't Feed My Children 
5 The Convalescent 
6 Baby Elian 
7 The Masses Against the Classes 
8 My Guernica 
9 Studies in Paralysis 
10 Dead Martyrs 
11 Wattsville Blues 
12 Miss Europa Disco Dancer 
13 Fear of Motion 
14 Pedestal 
15 Didn't My Lord Deliver Daniel 
16 Locust Valley 
17 Masking Tape 
18 Ballad of the Bangkok Novotel 

Disc 3

1 Ocean Spray (Studio Demo) 
2 So Why So Sad (Cassette Demo) 
3 Door to the River (Cassette Demo) 
4 His Last Painting (Air Version Home Cassette Demo) 
5 Let Robeson Sing (Home Cassette Demo) 
6 Groundhog Days (Home Cassette Demo) 
7 Epicentre (Cassette Demo) 
8 Intravenous Agnostic (Home Cassette Demo) 
9 Freedom of Speech Won't Feed My Children (Studio Demo) 
10 The Convalescent (Studio Rehearsal Demo) 
11 His Last Painting (Studio Demo) 
12 Baby Elian (Studio Demo) 
13 The Masses Against the Classes (Studio Demo) 
14 My Guernica No. 1 (Home Acoustic Demo) 
15 My Guernica (Studio Demo) 
16 Nunc Dimittis/Ayn Apolis/Magnum Nomen Domini (Cantique De Simeon) 
17 Wattsville Blues (Home Cassette Demo)