Slade ‎– Slade Alive! - Limited Edition Splatter Vinyl LP

Slade ‎– Slade Alive! - Limited Edition Splatter Vinyl LP


Regular price £24.99 Sale

Released: 28th January 2022

Limited Edition Splatter Vinyl LP 

Slade Alive! is the first live album released by Slade. The album was released on 24 March 1972, and reached number two on the UK Albums Chart, as well as being Slade's first album to dent the Billboard 200 in the United States, where it peaked at #158. The album contained original songs, plus cover versions of songs by Ten Years After, The Lovin' Spoonful, Bobby Marchan, and Steppenwolf. Since its release, the album has gained recognition as one of the greatest live albums of all time. After the success of Slade singles Get Down and Get With It, Coz I Luv You and Look Wot You Dun, Slade set out to capture their live sound on record. After the commercial failures of previous albums Beginnings and Play It Loud, the only income was through the band's solid live reputation. Slade Alive! was recorded at the Command Theatre Studio in London, for a cost of £600, and released without overdubs of any sort in March 1972. A number of lucky fan club members had been present over the course of a three night run. The album consisted of covers of Ten Years After's Hear Me Calling, John Sebastian's Darling Be Home Soon, Little Richard's Get Down and Get With It which became a top 20 hit for the band in mid-1971 and Steppenwolf's Born to Be Wild which had also appeared on the band's debut album Beginnings (1969). The album peaked at number 2 in the UK Albums Chart, and remained in that listing for 58 weeks. In Australia, Slade Alive! was the biggest selling album since The Beatles' 1967 album Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band.

Track Listing:

1 Hear Me Calling Slade 5.46
2 In Like a Shot from My Gun Slade 3.33
3 Darling Be Home Soon Slade 5.43
4 Know Who You Are Slade 3.37
5 Keep On Rocking Slade 6.29
6 Get Down and Get With It Slade 5.33
7 Born to Be Wild