The Creation ‎– Power Surge - RSD17 Exclsuive - Purple Vinyl LP

The Creation ‎– Power Surge - RSD17 Exclsuive - Purple Vinyl LP

Demon Records

Regular price £25.99 £12.99 Sale

Released: 22 Apr 2017

Record Store Day edition for 2017

Alan McGee was such a big fan of The Creation that he named his record label after the band, and named his own band after one of their songs – Biff Bang Pow. The Creation was formed in 1966 from beat combo The Mark Four, and was quickly signed to a production deal with Shel Talmy, The Who's producer. The first release was the urgent "Making Time", which featured guitarist Eddie Phillips playing his guitar with a violin bow, two years before Jimmy Page started doing so. Whilst very popular in Germany, UK success largely eluded the band, and after a number of non-charting singles and line-up changes, the band broke up in 1968 without ever having released an album. In 1995, following a reunion concert at Harlesden's Mean Fiddler, Alan McGee and Joe Foster managed to persuade the original line-up of Eddie Phillips, lead singer Kenny Pickett, bassist Bob Garner and drummer Jack Jones to get into a studio and record a new album, for release on Creation Records! The results were issued in 1996, with a very limited release on vinyl. Sadly the reunion was cut short by Kenny Pickett's death from a heart attack in 1997. This limited edition reissue is pressed on purple vinyl, and features the original inner sleeve.


1 Creation
2 Power Surge
3 Someone's Gonna Bleed
4 Shock Horror
5 Thats How I Found Love
6 Killing Song
7 Nobody Wants To Know
8 City Life
9 English Language
10 Free Men Live Forever
11 Ghost Division
12 O+N