Various ‎– Now That’s What I Call Music! - Now Presents… Electronic - Numbered Limited Edition Black Vinyl 5LP Box Set

Various ‎– Now That’s What I Call Music! - Now Presents… Electronic - Numbered Limited Edition Black Vinyl 5LP Box Set

Regular price £89.99 £80.99 Pre-Order Price

Released: 19th August 2022

Numbered Limited Edition Black Vinyl 5LP Box Set

Limited to 1200 copies

The 5-LP box set highlights some of the most innovative and enduringly popular tracks of the genre, and includes some era-defining 12”, extended, and full-length versions alongside the single versions.

NOW Presents…Electronic is presented in a rigid slip case, with complementary design extending across the 5 individual LPs, with the reverse of the covers featuring track by track annotations that include chart positions, and facts about both song and artist(s).

LP 1 kicks off with an 80’s signature synth pop hit from Queen with ‘Radio Ga Ga’, followed by extended 12” versions of Eurythmics’ ‘Sexcrime (Nineteen Eighty-Four)’ and ‘Torch’ by Soft Cell, and ‘Together In Electric Dreams’, the collaboration between Philip Oakey, and one of the key architects of electronic pop music, Giorgio Moroder. ‘Diversion 10’ of Art Of Noise’s ‘Beat Box’ is found on the Side 2, along with huge chart hits from Paul Hardcastle, Phil Lynott, the 12” version of a-ha’s ‘Take On Me’, and ‘You Spin Me Round (Like A Record)’ the electro/Hi-NRG No. 1 from Dead Or Alive.

Laurie Anderson’s epic ‘O Superman’ opens LP 2 and continues with Kate Bush’s (still) stunningly original ‘The Dreaming’. Produced and co-written with David Bowie, Iggy Pop’s ‘Nightclubbing’ features next, and finishing this first side, two influential album tracks from Japan (‘Taking Islands In Africa’) and Duran Duran (‘The Chauffeur’) both using electronic music to beautiful cinematic effect. The second side for LP 2 brings together (amongst others) debut chart hits from Tears For Fears, Howard Jones, Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark and The Buggles with ‘Video Killed The Radio Star’.

LP 3 starts with the iconic ‘Blue Monday’ from New Order, before moving onto another Bernard Sumner hit project Electronic, with their 1993 hit ‘Disappointed’, where Neil Tennant features on vocals. Pet Shop Boys link the next three tracks on this side: Liza Minnelli’s ‘Losing My Mind’ (produced by them), Eighth Wonder’s ‘I’m Not Scared’ and Dusty Springfield’s ‘Nothing Has Been Proved’ (both composed and produced by Pet Shop Boys). The second side includes Gary Numan’s first solo single ‘Cars’, and features synth-pop classics from John Foxx and The Cure, before closing with another band that featured Bernard Sumner - Joy Division with their defining ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’.

Sparks open LP 4 with the full-length version of the seminal ‘The Number One Song In Heaven’, produced by Giorgio Moroder, who also co-produced the next track, ‘Working The Midnight Shift’ by Donna Summer. Late ‘70’s European disco from Amanda Lear and Telex follows. The second side of LP 4 highlights the huge electro dance tracks of the ‘80s from Chaka Khan, Malcolm McLaren, Freeez and Company B.

The final LP showcases 1981 with a side of timeless synth-pop from that year, including hits from Ultravox, Visage, The Human League, and Spandau Ballet. Yello commence our final side with one of the greatest 12”s ever with 1988s ‘The Race’, followed by the outstanding ‘Dr Mabuse’ from Propaganda and Peter Schilling’s 1983 ‘Major Tom (Coming Home)’ … closing with Falco’s global No. 1 ‘Rock Me Amadeus’.



Disc 1
1 Radio Ga Ga - Queen
2 Sexcrime (Nineteen Eighty-four) [extended Mix] - Eurythmics, Annie Lennox, Dave Stewart
3 Torch (Extended Version) - Soft Cell
4 Relax - Frankie Goes to Hollywood
5 Together in Electric Dreams - Philip Oakley & Giorgio Moroder
6 Take On Me (Extended Mix) - a-ha
7 You Spin Me Round (Like a Record) - Dead Or Alive
8 19 - Paul Hardcastle
9 Beat Box (Diversion 10) - The Art of Noise
10 Yellow Pearl - Phil Lynott
11 Einstein a Go-go - Landscape
12 Cry - Godley and Creme
13 Christian - China Crisis

Disc 2
1 O Superman - Laurie Anderson
2 The Dreaming - Kate Bush
3 Nightclubbing - Iggy Pop
4 Taking Islands in Africa - Japan
5 The Chauffeur - Duran Duran
6 Mad World - Tears for Fears
7 Messages - Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark
8 Wishing (If I Had a Photograph of You) - A Flock of Seagulls
9 The Safety Dance - Men Without Hats
10 New Song - Howard Jones
11 Video Killed the Radio Star - The Buggles
12 Pop Muzik - M
13 In the Name of Love - Thompson Twins

Disc 3
1 Blue Monday - New Order
2 Disappointed - Electronic
3 Losing My Mind - Liza Minnelli
4 I'm Not Scared - Eighth Wonder
5 Nothing Has Been Proved - Dusty Springfield
6 Steppin' Out - Joe Jackson
7 Cars - Gary Numan
8 Underpass - John Foxx
9 The Walk - The Cure
10 Lawnchairs - Our Daughter's Wedding
11 It's My Life - Talk Talk
12 Brilliant Mind - Furniture
13 Soul Train - Swansway
14 Love Will Tear Us Apart - Joy Division

Disc 4
1 The Number One Song in Heaven - Sparks
2 Working the Midnight Shift - Donna Summer
3 Funkytown - Lipps, Inc.
4 Follow Me - Amanda Lear
5 Moskow Diskow - Telex
6 Hard Times - The Human League
7 I.O.U. - Freeez
8 I Feel for You - Chaka Khan
9 Fascinated - Company B
10 Let It All Blow - Dazz Band
11 Buffalo Gals - Malcolm McLaren & World's Famous Supreme Team
12 (Hey You) the Rock Steady Crew - Rock Steady Crew
13 Axel F (From 'Beverly Hills Cop') - Harold Faltermeyer
14 Miami Vice Theme (From 'Miami Vice') - Jan Hammer

Disc 5
1 Vienna - Ultravox
2 Fade to Grey - Visage
3 Quiet Life - Japan
4 Planet Earth - Duran Duran
5 The Sound of the Crowd - The Human League
6 Tainted Love - Soft Cell
7 Glow - Spandau Ballet
8 Play to Win - Heaven 17
9 The Race (Extended Version) - Yello
10 Dr Mabuse - Propaganda
11 Major Tom (Coming Home) - Peter Schilling
12 Da Da Da I Don't Love You, You Don't Love Me Aha Aha Aha - Trio
13 Rock Me Amadeus (The American Edit) - Falco