Various - NOW That's What I Call Punk & New Wave - Pink Vinyl 2LP


Regular price £22.99 Sale

Released: 21st January 2022

Pink Vinyl 2LP

Now Music proudly presents Now That’s What I Call Punk and New Wave - a collection encapsulating the spirit of the times, and of the movement that changed the course of mainstream pop music. It presents the era’s most iconic artists, including The Clash, Blondie, Ramones, U2, Buzzcocks, Siouxsie And The Banshees, Adam and The Ants, The Jam and The Cure. ‘London Calling’ by The Clash, The Undertones’ breakthrough hit ‘Teenage Kicks’, and Buzzcocks ‘Ever Fallen In Love (With Someone You Shouldn't've)’, kick off the first disc - alongside classics from The Stranglers, Siouxsie And The Banshees and Ramones. The late 70s and early 80s saw an explosion of punk and new wave groups and artists moving from the underground to mainstream chart success. No.1s from The Jam with ‘Going Underground’, ‘Brass In Pocket’ by Pretenders, The Boomtown Rats’ ‘Rat Trap’, Dexys Midnight Runners’ ‘Geno’, and Ian Dury & The Blockheads’ ‘Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick’ are all here, as well as top 5 hits from Squeeze, Lene Lovich, Joe Jackson and Patti Smith. The genre also gave the first crossover success for bands that became the biggest acts in music during the late 70s and early 80s, including The Police, U2, The Cure, Blondie, all featured – along with two tracks from Adam and The Ants’ breakthrough album ‘Kings Of The Wild Frontier’, with the title track and ‘Dog Eat Dog’. True unique masterpieces of song-writing and performance that sound as fresh today as they did then include Iggy Pop’s ‘Lust For Life’, The Members’ ‘Sound Of The Suburbs’, Joy Division’s ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’, and ‘Rock Lobster’ from The B-52’s. Brilliant covers flooded the charts – bringing new arrangements and different perspectives to established tracks, including The Slits’ cover of the Motown classic 'I Heard It Through The Grapevine’, ‘Money’ by The Flying Lizards, Blondie’s ‘Hanging On The Telephone’ and ‘Denis’, and ‘I Only Want To Be With You’ by The Tourists. A fantastic collection of unique tracks that summarize an incredible time for music.

Track Listings:


1. The Clash - London Calling

2. The Undertones - Teenage Kicks

3. The Stranglers - No More Heroes

4. Siouxsie And The Banshees - Hong Kong Garden

5. The Rezillos - Top Of The Pops

6. Ramones - Sheena Is A Punk Rocker

7. The Members - Sound Of The Suburbs

8. The Ruts - Babylon's Burning

9. Iggy Pop - Lust For Life


1. The Jam - Going Underground

2. The Police - Can't Stand Losing You

3. The Boomtown Rats - Rat Trap

4. Blondie - Hanging On The Telephone

5. Pretenders - Brass In Pocket

6. X-Ray Spex - Germ Free Adolescents

7. Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers - Roadrunner

8. The Runaways - Cherry Bomb

9. Jilted John - Jilted John


1. The B-52's - Rock Lobster

2. Devo - Whip It

3. The Flying Lizards - Money

4. Squeeze - Cool For Cats

5. XTC - Making Plans For Nigel

6. Tom Robinson Band - 2-4-6-8 Motorway

7. Joe Jackson - Is She Really Going Out With Him?

8. Patti Smith - Because The Night


1. U2 – I Will Follow

2. Skids - Into The Valley

3. Adam & The Ants - Dog Eat Dog

4. Dexys Midnight Runners - Geno

5. Ian Dury & The Blockheads - Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick

6. Martha And The Muffins - Echo Beach

7. The Cure - A Forest

8. Joy Division - Love Will Tear Us Apart